Gratitude With (Less) Attitude

I’m so appreciative that I am flexible enough to bend or break at my own whim.  There’s freedom in knowing that ultimately, the choice is mine.  

It’s difficult, at first, when there’s no one left to blame but yourself; when you shoulder the responsibility of how you feel, when you stop giving the power of your experience to others through blame.  But the difficulty will fade quickly if you allow yourself to dwell on the thrill and excitement of being The One With Whom The Buck Stops.

There’s a little discomfort when you realize that it wasn’t your parents, after all.  It wasn’t your bosses or your teachers or your spouse or your kids… it was you, me, ourselves, all along.

Granted, when we’re kids, our parents are  (or should be) responsible for us, but there comes a time when, once we’ve learned this information, or once we become adults in our own right, the burden shifts from them to us.  That can be a bitter pill to swallow, when you don’t figure this shit out until you’ve reached your mid-30’s!

But I know folks in their 60’s who haven’t figured it out yet, so I’m not upset.  I’m grateful to have been blessed with (hopefully) many years of rectifying my mindset, and playing the game as it was meant to be played.

Namaste & Blessed be, friends!

Author: Amanda

I'm married to my best friend, we live in Virginia, USA, and have one cat together. I am literally going through the process of developing my Self. Until recently, I had no concept of who I was, what I wanted, or even that I didn't know these things. That's all changed, and as a result, I am changing at a rapid pace. Try and keep up.