Confessions (Part 12)

Accept everything, expect nothing. 

I’m still on this.  I like how it can be seen equally from an optimistic and a pessimistic viewpoint.

Pessimist: Accept all the shit they shovel your way, and expect nothing in return for the good you do and the hard work you do for other people.  The only way to avoid disappointment is to have no expectations at all.

Ick.  That felt dirty just to write.  I’ve come a long way in a short time.  Not that long ago, that was how I looked at the world.  But now, I think more like this:

Optimist: Accept all the awesome things coming down the pipeline for you!  Embrace the excitement and thrill of living by your intuition.  Expect nothing, because anything you are able to dream will pale in the face of the reality of how awesome your life is about to get.

Yeah… that one sounds hella better!

Author: Amanda

I'm married to my best friend, we live in Virginia, USA, and have one cat together. I am literally going through the process of developing my Self. Until recently, I had no concept of who I was, what I wanted, or even that I didn't know these things. That's all changed, and as a result, I am changing at a rapid pace. Try and keep up.

Leave a Reply

