Communication 

Lately, I’ve become aware of my style of communication, and what it may say about me.

I communicate with others through analogies, a LOT.  I repeat myself, a LOT.

I know that I never feel truly understood, especially without using analogies.  I have come to believe that this is because people really don’t understand me when I don’t use them, because I don’t experience the outside world in the same way as most other people, but I experience the same feelings that they do, and I do live in the same world, even though it usually doesn’t feel like it, and through stories, I can be sure I am getting across what I am aiming to, or close to it.

When you add to that a constant fear of being misunderstood, it makes for pretty annoying conversation to muddle through.

I have an almost desperate need to verify that what others are hearing matches what I am trying to say.  I think I’ve always been aware that people aren’t really picking up what I’m putting down, so to speak, which has created a lack of confidence and deep insecurities.

Or perhaps I use analogies so much because I have sensed the differences between myself and everyone else, and I’m so fearful that the differences will cause a misunderstanding, I use them as a sort of ‘pre-emptive’ defense mechanism.

The more I understand who I really am beneath all the programming, the more my confidence grows, which I hope will also begin to clear up my communication.

Author: Amanda

I'm married to my best friend, we live in Virginia, USA, and have one cat together. I am literally going through the process of developing my Self. Until recently, I had no concept of who I was, what I wanted, or even that I didn't know these things. That's all changed, and as a result, I am changing at a rapid pace. Try and keep up.

Leave a Reply

